Sunshine in store for Memorial Day weekend

Superintendent Barresi announces Teacher of Year finalists

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY — Twelve Oklahoma teachers are one step closer to earning one of the state’s highest honors. 

LINK: Oklahoma’s 2013 Teacher of the Year Finalists

Thursday State Superintendent Janet Barresi announced Oklahoma’s 2013 Teacher of the Year Finalists in a ceremony at the Capitol. 

“I’m so impressed with the work of each of these finalists and by their vision for education in the state of Oklahoma,” Barresi said. “As I read about each finalist, I saw a willingness to do whatever it takes to move students to the next levels in literacy, STEM and all of learning. I feel blessed to see such passion, creativity and devotion in service of children.”

The winning teacher will represent the Sooner State in the national Teacher of the Year competition, win more than $50,000 in cash and prizes and serve as Oklahoma’s Ambassador of Teaching, meeting with teachers and civic groups across the state for one year.

LINK: More information on Oklahoma’s Teacher of the Year Award

LINK: Oklahoma’s 2013 Teacher of the Year Finalists

Cindy Bailey – is a 9th- through 12th-grade algebra I, geometry, pre-calculus and ACT prep teacher at Altus High School with 14 years of experience.

Carol Brinsfield – is a 3rd- and 4th-grade reading teacher at Checotah Intermediate School with 16 years of experience.

Andrea Brock – is a 7th-grade math teacher at Moore West Junior High with eight years of experience.

Daniel Buckmaster – is a 6th-grade science teacher at Belle Isle Enterprise Middle School in the Oklahoma City Public Schools District with seven years of experience.

Kyle Cooper – is a prekindergarten teacher at Central Elementary School in the Coweta Public Schools District with eight years of experience.

Tiffani Cooper – is a 9th- and 10th-grade advanced English I and II teacher at Owasso Mid-High School with five years of experience.

Elaine Hutchison – is an algebra II, trigonometry, pre-calculus and AP calculus teacher who splits her time between Fairview High School and Chamberlain Middle School in the Fairview Public Schools District and the Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics Regional Center. She has 19 years of experience.

Lisa Lamont – is a kindergarten teacher at Irving Elementary School in the Muskogee Public Schools District with 13 years of experience.

Kim Landers – is a 9th- through 12-grade Spanish teacher at Deer Creek High School with 14 years of experience.

Lane Matheson – is a pre-AP physics, AP physics B, digital electronics, and engineering robotics teacher at Memorial High School and Engineering Academy in the Tulsa Public Schools District. She has 16 years of experience.

Brenda Roberts – is a 3rd-grade teacher at Homer Elementary School in the Byng Public Schools District with 13 years of experience.

Lee Ann Stone – is a kindergarten teacher at Woodward’s Early Childhood Center with 21.5 years of experience.