New law makes it easier to get protective order
OKLAHOMA CITY – Governor Mary Falling just signed a law that would help victims seeking a protection order.
House Bill 1912 allows a victim to file for a protective order without filing a previous criminal complaint.
The court can now consider the safety of a victim before setting a bond for anyone violating a VPO.
Also, victims will no longer be forced to go to counseling as part of the protective order.
The bill goes into effect Nov. 1.
- Woman's car payments hid her death for 6 years, body found mummified in backseat of car
- Oklahoma father finds mother, 3-year-old daughter dead in garage, saves 5-year-old son
- UPDATE: Did one of Oklahoma's famous couples find another home in a different state?
- Oklahoma part of major beef recall, see if your neighborhood grocery store made the list