You know that friend who has an opinion or a joke about everything? Sure, they’re entertaining, but sometimes you wish you could get them to shut up.
Now on Twitter, you can.
Twitter is rolling out a “mute” feature that will let you silence certain users in your feed.
Once you’ve muted them, their tweets and retweets will no longer be visible in your timeline, and you won’t receive their push or SMS notifications, although @ replies and mentions will still appear.
“In the same way you can turn on device notifications so you never miss a tweet from your favorite users, you can now mute users you’d like to hear from less,” Twitter said in a blog post late Monday.
The mute function will be available on Twitter’s iPhone and Android apps and its website and will roll out to all Twitter users “in the coming weeks.”
Twitter says muted users will still be able to favorite, reply to and retweet your tweets, but you won’t see any of that activity in your timeline. Muted users you follow can still send you a direct message.
But the muted user won’t know you’ve muzzled them, and you can unmute them at any time.