New law will make it more expensive to get a divorce in Oklahoma

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Divorce

OKLAHOMA CITY – Oklahoma will make it more expensive to get divorced under a new law that has received final approval from the governor.

Gov. Mary Fallin signed the bill into law Monday.

It will assess an administrative fee totaling 15 percent of fees the court clerk collects for other agencies.

The new law will also raise the filing fee for divorce, alimony, custody, separate-maintenance and child-support actions by $40.

The law requires the revenues from the fees, estimated at $11 million per year, to go toward a revolving fund for district courts to meet their lawful obligations.

The law is scheduled to go into effect July 1.