Warm temperatures in store ahead of cold front

Four Oklahoma schools named 2016 National Blue Ribbon Schools

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

School classroom

OKLAHOMA CITY – Four Oklahoma schools have been named 2016 National Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education.

“The annual National Blue Ribbon Schools designation acknowledges the very best of our nation’s schools,” said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister. “We are thrilled to recognize the accomplishments of each of these exceptional schools. Doors to the highest levels of learning can only be opened when communities of learners, teachers, administrators, staff, parents and others collaborate to achieve the highest outcomes for all students.
“We are at a crossroads in Oklahoma education. The challenges are many; the opportunities even greater. The schools we are recognizing this year should serve as examples for us as we work together to champion excellence in Oklahoma schools. We are proud of their accomplishments and grateful for the work they do every day to lift student outcomes and build a strong future for Oklahoma.”

Oklahoma’s 2016 National Blue Ribbon Schools are as follows:

  • Booker T. Washington High School (Tulsa Public Schools)
  • L. Mendel Rivers Elementary School (Altus Public Schools)
  • Northwood Elementary School (Piedmont Public Schools)
  • Sadler Arts Academy (Muskogee Public Schools.)

The U.S. Department of Education named 329 National Blue Ribbon Schools this year.