Pleasant Monday with highs in the low 70s

Gov. Fallin requests major disaster declaration for May storms

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – State officials are requesting a major disaster declaration from the federal government for severe weather in May.

On Thursday, Gov. Mary Fallin announced the state of Oklahoma has requested a major disaster declaration from the federal government for 16 counties impacted by severe weather from May 16 through May 20.

The affected counties include:

  • Alfalfa
  • Beckham
  • Cherokee
  • Coal
  • Cotton
  • Delaware
  • Johnston
  • LeFlore
  • Murray
  • Muskogee
  • Okfuskee
  • Okmulgee
  • Pittsburg
  • Pontotoc
  • Roger Mills
  • Washita.

The storms sparked 38 tornadoes, extensive flooding, power outages and dangerous travel conditions.

One death and multiple injuries were attributed to the storm.

Investigators say the storms caused more than $6.5 million in infrastructure damage, debris and response costs.

If the disaster declaration is approved, federal funding would be available to help the areas with infrastructure repairs, debris removal and costs associated with responding to the storm.