After storm system, chilly temps to welcome spring
Watch KFOR Live Interactive Radar

Baker Mayfield Wins Four Major Awards in One Day

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield won four major national college football awards on Thursday.

Mayfield was named the Associated Press national player of the year, the Walter Camp Award as the national player of the year, the Maxwell Award as the national player of the year and the Davey O’Brien Award as the nation’s top quarterback.

For the AP  honor, Mayfield received 51 of the 56 first place votes from the AP college football poll voters.

Bryce Love of Stanford and Lamar Jackson of Louisville each received two first place votes, and Penn State’s Saquon Barkley received one.

Mayfield becomes the fourth Sooner to win the AP award, joining Josh Heupel in 2000, Jason White in 2003, and Sam Bradford in 2008.

OU is the only school to win the award more than twice.

It was first awarded in 1998.

Mayfield also won the Camp Award, which is given out by the Walter Camp Football Foundation, and voted on by major college coaches and sports information directiors.

Mayfield is the fourth Sooner to win that award as well, joining Steve Owens in 1969, Billy Sims in 1978, and Josh Heupel in 2000.

The Camp Award was first given out in 1967.

Mayfield won two awards on the College Football Awards Show in Atlanta.

He won the Maxwell Award as the national player of the year.

Mayfield becomes the third Sooners player to win that award, joining Tommy McDonald in 1956 and Jason White in 2004.

Mayfield was named the Davey O’Brien Award winner as well as the nation’s top quarterback.

It’s the fourth time a Sooner QB has won that honor and the fifth time an OU player has won the O’Brien Award.

Jason White won the O’Brien Award in 2003 and 2004, and Sam  Bradford won it in 2008.

Former OU running back Billy Sims won the award in 1978 when it was presented to the best player in the southwest.