Gov. Fallin declares state of emergency

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – Gov. Mary Fallin has declared a State of Emergency for 35 Oklahoma counties after the straight line winds, hail, flooding and tornadoes Tuesday.

The counties included in the declaration are: Alfalfa, Blaine, Bryan, Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Creek, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Harper, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Latimer, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Major, McClain, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pottawatomie, Stephens, Tillman, Tulsa, Washita, Woods and Woodward.

If needed, additional counties can be added with more severe weather expected Wednesday evening.

The severe storms that came through Tuesday night and into Wednesday morning have resulted in damage to homes, businesses and vehicles as well as numerous power outages.

Under the Executive Order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions.

The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance, should it be necessary.