Governor declares state of emergency for winter weather

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Snow in Weatherford - Hannah Otey

OKLAHOMA CITY – A state of emergency has been declared for 56 Oklahoma counties because of the winter storm, excessive snow and severe weather affecting most of the state.

Governor Mary Fallin asked Lt. Governor Todd Lamb to declare the State of Emergency Monday.

Counties included in the State of Emergency:

  • Adair
  • Alfalfa
  • Beaver
  • Beckham
  • Blaine
  • Caddo
  • Canadian
  • Cherokee
  • Cimarron
  • Cleveland
  • Comanche
  • Cotton
  • Craig
  • Creek
  • Custer
  • Delaware
  • Dewey
  • Ellis
  • Garfield
  • Grady
  • Grant
  • Greer
  • Harmon
  • Harper
  • Jackson
  • Kay
  • Kingfisher
  • Kiowa
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Major
  • Mayes
  • McClain
  • McIntosh
  • Muskogee
  • Noble
  • Nowata
  • Okfuskee
  • Oklahoma
  • Okmulgee
  • Osage
  • Ottawa
  • Pawnee
  • Payne
  • Pottawatomie
  • Roger Mills
  • Rogers
  • Seminole
  • Texas
  • Tillman
  • Tulsa
  • Wagoner
  • Washington
  • Washita
  • Woods
  • Woodward

Lt. Gov. Lamb said more counties may be added as needed.

“I am urging Oklahomans in the impacted areas to take winter storm precautions and stay off the roads unless travel is absolutely necessary,” Lt. Gov. Lamb said. “This is a very serious winter storm and we want Oklahomans to stay safe.”

The Executive Order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases related to disaster relief and preparedness. It is also a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

Under the Executive Order, the state of emergency lasts for 30 days.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.