Governor issues State of Emergency for 35 Okla. counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY- Gov. Mary Fallin declared a State of Emergency for 35 Oklahoma counties due to Tuesday night’s severe storms.

The counties included in the declaration are as follows:

  • Adair County
  • Atoka County
  • Cherokee County
  • Coal County
  • Craig County
  • Creek County
  • Delaware County
  • Haskell County
  • Hughes County
  • Kay County
  • Latimer County
  • Le Flore County
  • Lincoln County
  • Logan County
  • Mayes County
  • McIntosh County
  • Muskogee County
  • Noble County
  • Nowata County
  • Okfuskee County
  • Okmulgee County
  • Osage County
  • Ottawa County
  • Pawnee County
  • Payne County
  • Pittsburg County
  • Pontotoc County
  • Pottawatomie County
  • Pushmataha County
  • Rogers County
  • Seminole County
  • Sequoyah County
  • Tulsa County
  • Wagoner County
  • Washington County

“Heavy winds and flooding have led to damage throughout the state and left many without power, especially in the Tulsa metro,” said Fallin. “Both government and private sector resources are being utilized to help those affected.”

Many counties experienced flash flooding, straight-line winds and widespread power outages.

Under the Executive Order, state agencies will be able to make emergency purchases.

The declaration is also the first step toward seeking federal assistance if it is necessary.