Summertime heat bringing triple digit temperatures to the forecast
Follow storms on KFOR live interactive radar

Deadline to register for disaster assistance is Monday

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – The last day for Oklahomans to register for disaster assistance after the storms is Monday.

Aug. 19 is the deadline for homeowners, renters and business owners to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

According to officials, more than 15,000 households have already registered and more than $54.3 million in disaster assistance has already been approved.

Areas that qualify for disaster assistance:

Canadian County
Cleveland County
LeFlore County
Lincoln County
McClain County
Okfuskee County
Okmulgee County
Oklahoma County
Pottawatomie County

FEMA authorities said survivors who suffered uninsured and underinsured losses from the spring storms will qualify.

APPLY: Click here to apply for disaster assistance from FEMA

Aid may include:

– Housing assistance grants to help pay for temporary housing and home repairs
– Other disaster-related needs for personal property replacement
– To pay for other necessary disaster-related expenses
– U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private nonprofit organizations

The deadline for submitting an SBA application is also Monday, Aug. 19.

“If you have storm damage, please register with FEMA before the deadline,” Michelann Ooten said, State Coordinating Officer and Deputy Director with the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management. “We want to ensure that everyone who is eligible receives assistance for their losses.”

FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Sandy Coachman said, “While applying is the first step, you still should follow up on your application and continue to update your contact information.”