OKC’s Mick Cornett is mayor of the year

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

A big congratulations to Oklahoma City mayor Mick Cornett who was named the 2013 Oklahoma Mayor of the Year.

The Mayors Council of Oklahoma made the announcement Thursday evening at a banquet in Tulsa.

This is the first time since the award began in 1991 that an Oklahoma City mayor has earned the title. Cornett has served as mayor of Oklahoma City since 2004.

Cornett beat out the mayors of Perry, Lawton, El Reno, Idabel, Duncan, Midwest City, Muskogee, Warr Acres and Sand Springs for the title from municipalities above 5,000

The nominees for Mayor of the Year for municipalities of 5,000 and below are the mayors of Cherokee, Oologah, Beaver, Nash, Kellyville and Stigler.