Live Interactive KFOR Radar

Gov. Fallin declares drought emergency for 5 Oklahoma counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – Several Oklahoma counties are still in a severe drought even with the recent rains hitting most of the state.

Governor Mary Fallin declared a drought emergency Tuesday for much of southwestern Oklahoma and the panhandle.

The counties include: Jackson, Tillman, Greer, Harmon and Texas.

“These five counties have faced three years of unrelenting drought,” Fallin said. “It’s not just an inconvenience; for many in these communities it has caused real economic hardship.”

Those counties will now be able to get financial assistance from the Emergency Drought Relief Fund.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.