National Weather Service warns residents to be prepared for freezing rain, power outages

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

NORMAN, Okla. – The National Weather Service is warning residents about an arctic cold front that is heading toward our state and could bring a bit of winter weather into the forecast.

Currently, the cold front is sending snow and ice to the Denver area.

Residents there are reporting snow drifts and icy roadways, which is making driving extremely hazardous in some parts of the state.

The National Weather Service says the front should not bring the accumulation that Colorado is seeing but Oklahoma will feel temperatures in the single-digits with the wind chill.

The agency has issued a winter weather advisory for the Sooner State, which will remain in effect from 6 p.m. Thursday to 6 a.m. Saturday.

Officials think the cold front will bring freezing rain to the affected counties from late Thursday night and early Friday morning.

Light freezing drizzle is possible into Saturday morning.

Experts are predicting that ice accumulation near one-tenth of an inch could fall on trees and power lines.

The National Weather Service also says that strong winds combined with the weight of the ice could result in some power outages.

Bridges and overpasses may also develop a thin layer of ice, making driving dangerous in some parts of the state Friday morning.

A few snow flurries and sleet is expected for northern Oklahoma.

The counties listed under the advisory are as follows:

  • Alfalfa County
  • Beckham County
  • Blaine County
  • Caddo County
  • Canadian County
  • Cleveland County
  • Comanche County
  • Custer County
  • Dewey County
  • Ellis County
  • Garfield County
  • Grady County
  • Grant County
  • Greer County
  • Harmon County
  • Harper County
  • Jackson County
  • Kay County
  • Kingfisher County
  • Kiowa County
  • Lincoln County
  • Logan County
  • Major County
  • McClain County
  • Noble County
  • Oklahoma County
  • Payne County
  • Pottawatomie County
  • Roger Mills County
  • Tillman County
  • Washita County
  • Woods County
  • Woodward County
Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.