KFOR interactive radar
Oklahoma Watches and Warnings

Kruger AP Big 12 Coach of Year

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Oklahoma head coach Lon Kruger was named the Associated Press Big 12 Coach of the Year on Monday.

Kruger led the Sooners to a second place finish in the conference after being picked to finish in a tie for fifth in the preseason coaches poll.

OU is 23-8 on the season and finished 12-6 in conference play, second behind regular season champion Kansas.

The All-Big 12 teams were announced by the AP as well.

Oklahoma State's Marcus Smart made first team, while OSU's Markel Brown was second team, along with OU's Buddy Hield.

Sooners Ryan Spangler and Cameron Clark made honorable mention all-conference.

The Big 12 Men's Basketball Tournament starts Wednesday at the Sprint Center in Kansas City.

OSU will play Texas Tech at 6:00 Wednesday.

OU will play the winner of the TCU-Baylor game on Thursday at 6:00.

A complete list of the AP All-Big 12 awards follows:

Coach of the Year: Lon Kruger, Oklahoma
Player of the Year: Melvin Ejim, Iowa State
Freshman of the Year: Andrew Wiggins, Kansas
Newcomer of the Year: DeAndre Kane, Iowa State

Melvin Ejim, Iowa St., Sr., 6-6, 220, Toronto, Ontario.
DeAndre Kane, Iowa St., Sr., 6-4, 200, Pittsburgh, Pa.
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma St., So., 6-4, 225, Flower Mound, Texas.
Juwan Staten, West Virginia, Jr., 6-1, 190, Dayton, Ohio.
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas, Fr., 6-8, 200, Vaughan, Ontario.

Markel Brown, Oklahoma St., Sr., 6-3, 190, Alexandria, La.
Joel Embiid, Kansas, Fr., 7-0, 250, Yaounde, Cameroon.
Marcus Foster, Kansas St., Fr., 6-2, 200, Wichita Falls, Texas.
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma, So., 6-4, 208, Freeport, Bahamas.
Cory Jefferson, Baylor, Sr., 6-9, 220, Killeen, Texas.

Kyan Anderson, TCU; Bryce Chery, Baylor; Cameron Clark, Oklahoma; Jaye Crockett, Texas Tech; Perry Ellis, Kansas; Eron Harris, West Virginia; Jonathan Holmes, Texas; Georges Niang, Iowa St.; Cameron Ridley, Texas; Ryan Spangler, Oklahoma; Isaiah Taylor, Texas.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.