Oklahoma troopers honored with award for acts of heroism, valor

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – Three Oklahoma Highway Patrol troopers were recognized for their heroism and valor during separate instances last year.

AAA Oklahoma honored Bobby Raines, Sean Mass and Tommy Allen with ‘Trooper of the Year’ honors.

Raines is a member of Troop B in Tulsa and was recognized for his quick-thinking during a fight last September.

Raines tried to pull over a car for traffic violations when the driver took off.

During the ensuing scuffle, the man tried to grab Raines’ gun.

Fearing for his own safety and the safety of others, he used deadly force to protect others.

Capt. George Brown, with the OHP, said, “Trooper Raines’ tenacity and split-second decision to use deadly force are the factors which ultimately saved his life.”

Sean Mass is a member of Troop D in McAlester and was recognized for his humanitarianism last August.

Mass was called to a creek after witnesses saw a vehicle in the water.

He spotted the car, which was nearly submerged and sinking, and made his way into the water.

He got to the driver, who said he wanted to kill himself, and was able to convince him to get out of the car and back to safety.

Brown said, “Trooper Mass displayed great courage and professionalism in saving the life of another.”

Tommy Allen is a trooper with Troop E in Durant and was honored for an act of valor.

In February, Allen tried to stop a vehicle, which led him on a chase.

When they reached a parking lot, the driver boxed in Allen and hit his patrol car.

At that point, Allen saw the man open his door, grab a rifle and aim it at another trooper.

Allen fired his pistol through his windshield, hitting the suspect.

He then administered first aid to the man until an ambulance arrived.

The following troopers received the Chief’s Award:

  • Trooper George Hoyle, Troop W (Lake Patrol in Oklahoma City)
  • Trooper Herbert Perry, Troop W (Lake Patrol in Oklahoma City)
  • Trooper Matt Drummond, Troop W (Lake Patrol in Tulsa)
  • Trooper Jeremy Tolman, Troop XC near the Indian Nation Turnpike
  • Trooper Rusty Callicoat, Troop B in Tulsa
  • Trooper Joe Kimmons, Troop A in Oklahoma City
  • Capt. Don Stockton, Troop LETD in Oklahoma City
  • Capt. Paul Timmons, Troop R at the State Capitol
  • Game Warden Chad Strang in the Oklahoma City area

Also, four Oklahoma Department of Public Safety employees were honored with Administrative Professional of Year awards.

  • Kathy Harris in Ardmore, Exceptional Service Award
  • Karen Gentry in Oklahoma City, Career Achievement Award
  • Linda Phillips, Career Achievement Award
  • Angela Finley-Todd in Oklahoma City, Administrative Professional of the Year Award.

The inaugural Paul W. Matthews Memorial Award for Community Service was presented to Lori Swanson, who volunteers her time with children and families at Children’s Hospital. 

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.