Nolan Richardson Elected to Hall of Fame, Sutton Denied

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Former Tulsa head basketball coach Nolan Richardson has been elected to the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, but for the fourth time, former Oklahoma State coach Eddie Sutton did not receive enough votes for election.

Richardson was among four men elected to the Hall on Monday, joining Alonzo Mourning, Mitch Richmond, and Gary Williams.

Richardson coached at Tulsa from 1980 to ’85, leading the Golden Hurricane to three NCAA Tournament appearances and the 1981 NIT title.

From there, he moved to Arkansas, coaching the Razorbacks for 19 seasons and leading them to 13 NCAA Tournament appearances and the 1994 national championship.

Sutton has been nominated four times, but has yet to receive enough votes for election.

The induction ceremony for the class of 2014 will be August 8th in Springfield, Massachusetts.


Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.