Another Secretariat in the works? Find out who won the Preakness Stakes

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Kentucky Derby winner California Chrome, hailed as a modern-day Seabiscuit, won the 139th running of the Preakness Stakes in Baltimore on Saturday with a burst at the homestretch — moving a step closer to the illustrious and elusive Triple Crown.

He finished the race in 1:54, winning the Preakness by one-and-a-half lengths. 

With Victor Espinoza riding, California Chrome held off a hard-charging Ride On Curlin to take the second jewel in the Triple Crown.

Social Inclusion finished third.

The colt won the Kentucky Derby on May 3, and if he wins at the Belmont Stakes in New York, he’ll be the first Triple Crown winner since Affirmed in 1978.

Of the 38 horses that took both the Derby and Preakness, only 11 went on to win in the Belmont.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.