Summertime heat bringing triple digit temperatures to the forecast
Follow storms on KFOR live interactive radar

Finalists for 2015 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year award announced

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Teachers will lose their jobs as a result of budget cuts

OKLAHOMA CITY-  Education is a hot button issue across the country and a few Oklahoma teachers are being recognized for their work in the classroom.

On Wednesday, the 12 finalists for the 2015 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year award were announced.

A panel of educators selected two finalists from six regions of the state.

The finalists are as follows:

  • Tonya Lynn Boyle- teaches fifth grade at H. Cecil Rhoades Elementary School in Broken Arrow Public Schools.
  • Cynthia Brown- teaches AP English Language and Composition and Humanities at Piedmont High School in Piedmont Public Schools.
  • Roger Clement – teaches Physical Science, Biology, Chemistry and Chemistry II at Noble High School in Noble Public Schools.
  • Amber L. Elder – teaches first and second grades at James L. Dennis Elementary School in Putnam City Schools.
  • Adam Forester – teaches Chemistry, Pre-AP Chemistry, AP Chemistry and Earth Science at Bethany High School in Bethany Public Schools.
  • Monica Hodgden- teaches Pre-Kindergarten at Woodward Early Childhood Center in Woodward Public Schools.
  • James LeGrand – teaches AP U.S. History, America in the 1960s and Civil War and Reconstruction at Altus High School in Altus Public Schools.
  • Jennifer Luttmer- teaches second grade at Liberty Elementary School in Sallisaw Public Schools.
  • Romney Nesbitt- teaches art at Jenks West Intermediate School in Jenks Public Schools.
  • Jason Scott Proctor- teaches Geometry, Algebra II, Pre-Calculus and AP Calculus at Tahlequah High School in Tahlequah Public Schools.
  • Diane Walker- teaches All-Honors Oklahoma History, World History, Government and Geography at Muskogee High School in Muskogee Public Schools.
  • LeaAnn J. Wyrick- teaches Geography at McCall Middle School in Atoka Public Schools.

For more information on the finalists, visit the Teacher of the Year’s website.