Sooners, Cowboys Make AP All-Big 12

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Several Sooners and Cowboys made the 2014 Associated Press All-Big 12 teams.

The teams are voted on by area sports writer’s who cover the league’s teams.

Sooner freshman running back Samaje Perine was voted the Big 12’s newcomer of the year.

OU senior offensive tackle Darryl Williams and Perine made the first team offense.

Williams was a caption his senior year and has started over 35 games in his career.

Perine led the conference in rushing with 1,579 yards and ran for 21 touchdowns in his first year in Norman.

OSU junior college transfer Tyreek Hill earned the first team all-purpose spot in his first season as a Cowboy.

Hill averaged gaining over 150 all-purpose yards a game and finished second in the conference in all-purpose yards with 1,811.

Oklahoma State sophomore Emmanuel Ogbah was voted to the first team defense.

Ogbah finished second in the Big 12 with 11 sacks on the season.

OU junior Eric Striker earned a first team linebacker spot.

Striker finished fourth in the conference in sacks, made 56 tackles and recovered two fumbles in the 2014 regular season.

Sooner sophomore Zack Sanchez earned first team cornerback for his play.

Sanchez tied for the league lead with six interceptions on the season, returning one for a touchdown.

Sooner offensive lineman Tyrus Thompson and OU wide receiver Sterling Shepard made the second team offense.

OU defensive lineman Jordan Phillips and Sooner linebacker Dominique Alexander were voted to the second team defense.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.