Oklahoma Watches and Warnings

Oklahoma City elects City Council members

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY — Oklahoma City residents elected newcomer Mark Stonecipher and re-elected incumbents Meg Salyer and Ed Shadid to City Council during Tuesday’s elections.

Mark Stonecipher was elected to represent Ward 8, replacing Councilman Pat Ryan who chose not to run after a decade of service on City Council. Stonecipher won the council seat with 60.1 percent of the vote.  Ward 8 makes up much of northwest Oklahoma City, from Sara Road to Western and from Hefner Road north to the City limits.

Incumbent Councilwoman Meg Salyer was re-elected to her Ward 6 seat with 53.7 percent of voters support. Salyer has served on City Council since November 2008. Ward 6 makes up central Oklahoma City, from NW 23 south to SE 59.

Ward 2 Councilman Ed Shadid, who will serve his second term in office, retained his council seat with 59.1 percent. In general, the boundaries for Ward 2 are from NW 23 to NW 122 and Portland to I-235.

Ward 5 Councilman David Greenwell was reelected after running unopposed in south central Oklahoma City.

A swearing-in ceremony for Stonecipher, Salyer, Shadid and Greenwell will take place during the City Council meeting at 8:30 a.m. Tuesday, April 14. Council members serve four-year terms with an annual salary of $12,000.

Other representatives to the City Council include: Ward 1 James Greiner; Ward 3 Larry McAtee; Ward 4 Pete White; Ward 7 John Pettis Jr.

Residents can view a ward map here.

Follow the City on Twitter  and Facebook.

Report a typo

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.