Big 12 honors announced, OU junior named Player of the Year

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The Big 12 announced OU junior Buddy Hield as the conference's player of the year on Sunday, March 8.

Hield is the second Sooner to win the award, Blake Griffin won the award after the 2008-09 season.

Hield was also named to the All-Big 12 first team.

Fellow Sooner TaShawn Thomas was named the conference's newcomer of the year.

Thomas played his lone season with OU after transferring from Houston in the offseason.

OSU senior Le'Bryan Nash was named to the second team.

Fellow Cowboy Phil Forte was named to the third team, joined by OU's Thomas.

Sooner teammates Ryan Spangler and Isaiah Cousins were honorable mention selections.

OSU seniors Michael Cobbins and Anthony Hickey both made the All-Big 12 defensive team.

Hickey and Thomas were also named to the All-Newcomer team.


Report a typo