Follow storms in SE OK on KFOR live interactive radar

Cheerios recalls gluten-free cereal due to mix-up at facility

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

WASHINGTON – If you eat cereal for breakfast, you may need to double-check your box the next time you pour yourself a bowl.

On Monday, Cheerios announced that it is recalling several boxes of its original recipe and Honey Nut Cheerios because of a mix-up.

“We are embarrassed & sorry to share an incident that occurred at our production facility in Lodi, California, that allowed wheat flour to enter our gluten-free oat-based system. As a result, original and Honey Nut Cheerios produced during a two-week time period in July my contain wheat and were wrongly labeled gluten free,”  the company said in a statement.

The Honey Nut Cheerios boxes that are affected have the following “Better If Used By” dates:

  • 12 JUL2016 LD
  • 13 JUL2016 LD
  • 14JUL2016 LD
  • 15JUL2016 LD
  • 16JUL2016 LD
  • 17JUL2016 LD
  • 18JUL2016 LD
  • 19JUL2016 LD
  • 20JUL2016 LD
  • 21JUL2016 LD
  • 22JUL2016 LD
  • 23JUL2016 LD
  • 24JUL2016 LD
  • 25JUL2016 LD

The original Cheerios boxes that are affected have the following “Better If Used By” dates:

  • 14JUL2016 LD
  • 15JUL2016 LD
  • 16JUL2016 LD
  • 17JUL2016 LD

If the dates and the factory codes match, call 1-800-775-8370.

According to CNBC, the recall affects 1.8 million boxes of cereal.