Update: Disaster assistance made available for 3 additional counties for November storms

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

UPDATE: Gov. Mary Fallin announced that FEMA has approved the state’s request for public assistance for three additional counties dealing with damage related to the winter storm that began after Thanksgiving.

Federal funding is now available in Bryan, Garfield and Greer counties.


WASHINGTON, D.C. – President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration for Oklahoma, making funds available for state, tribal and local recovery efforts for the areas affected by the severe winter storms and flooding that impacted the state in late November.

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency says federal disaster aid is now available to Oklahoma to supplement state, tribal, and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe winter storms and flooding during the period of November 27 – 29, 2015.

President Barack Obama’s action makes federal funding available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storms and flooding in Alfalfa, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Grady, Grant, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, Major, Oklahoma, Roger Mills, Washita and Woods counties.

Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

William J. Doran III has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

Doran III said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Under President Obama’s disaster declaration issued for the State of Oklahoma, assistance for the State and local and tribal governments can include:

  • Payment of no less than 75 percent of the eligible costs for repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, bridges, utilities, buildings, schools, recreational areas and similar publicly owned property, as well as certain private non-profit organizations engaged in community service activities.
  • Payment of no more than 75 percent of the approved costs for hazard mitigation projects undertaken by state and local governments to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural or technological disasters.

FEMA says application procedures for state, local and tribal governments will be explained at a series of federal/state applicant briefings with locations to be announced in the affected area by recovery officials.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.