Buddy Hield Takes First National Player of the Year Honor

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

In the first of several national player of the year awards to be announced, Oklahoma senior guard Buddy Hield was named the winner of the Sporting News National Player of the Year award on Monday, March 7.

Hield becomes third Sooner player to win the honor, joining Stacey King in 1989 and Blake Griffin in 2009.

Oklahoma becomes one of just seven schools to have three Sporting News national player of the year awards.

Also Monday, Hield was named the AP Big 12 Player of the Year for the second year in a row, becoming the first player to do that.

Other major national player of the year honors include the AP Player of the Year, John Wooden Award, Naismith Award, the Adolph Rupp Trophy, the Oscar Robertson Trophy, and the National Association of Basketball Coaches Player of the Year.

Those will be announced at various times in the upcoming weeks.



Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.