Oklahoma Watches and Warnings
Watch KFOR Live Interactive Radar

Cherokee, Haskell counties approved for low-interest disaster loans

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – Two Oklahoma counties are now eligible to receive disaster assistance as a result of severe weather.

On Monday, Gov. Fallin announced that home and business owners in Cherokee and Haskell counties may receive a low-interest disaster loan from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

The loans are meant to replace any property not covered by insurance that was damaged during storms fromĀ April 28 through May 2.

During those storms, officials say at least 63 homes and businesses were impacted.

Under the rules, the following counties are also eligible for assistance:

  • Adair
  • Delaware
  • Latimer
  • LeFlore
  • Mayes
  • McIntosh
  • Muskogee
  • Pittsburg
  • Sequoyah
  • Wagoner.

The state is still awaiting a response from FEMA for 18 other counties affected by severe weather.