Summertime heat bringing triple digit temperatures to the forecast
Follow storms on KFOR live interactive radar

Major disaster declaration approved for 16 counties affected by May storms

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Elk City tornado damage

OKLAHOMA CITY – State officials say a major disaster declaration has been approved by the federal government for severe weather in May.

Earlier this month, Gov. Mary Fallin announced the state of Oklahoma had requested a major disaster declaration from the federal government for 16 counties impacted by severe weather from May 16 through May 20.

The affected counties include:

  • Alfalfa
  • Beckham
  • Cherokee
  • Coal
  • Cotton
  • Delaware
  • Johnston
  • LeFlore
  • Murray
  • Muskogee
  • Okfuskee
  • Okmulgee
  • Pittsburg
  • Pontotoc
  • Roger Mills
  • Washita.

The storms sparked 38 tornadoes, extensive flooding, power outages and dangerous travel conditions.

One death and multiple injuries were attributed to the storm.

Investigators say the storms caused more than $6.5 million in infrastructure damage, debris and response costs.

On Wednesday, Fallin announced that the Federal Emergency Management Agency had approved the request for disaster assistance.

Federal funding will be available to help the areas with infrastructure repairs, debris removal and costs associated with responding to the storm.