Volunteer fire department shares photos of fire truck destroyed in Oklahoma wildfire

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DEWEY COUNTY, Okla. – While firefighters continue to battle a massive wildfire in western Oklahoma, one volunteer fire department is working to replace a fire truck that was destroyed in that fire.

The Rhea Fire in Dewey County is by far the largest blaze that firefighters are currently battling. It has already consumed 283,095 acres and is only 3 percent contained.

As the weather conditions made it particularly dangerous for residents in the area, several evacuations occurred. Amazingly, only a few new fires started in spite of the conditions.

The Dewey County Sheriff says that about 50 area homes have burned in the Rhea Fire so far. Fortunately, he says that they are lifting all of the evacuation orders so people can go back and check on their homes.

One volunteer fire department lost a fire truck due to the wildfires.

The Butler Volunteer Fire Department released photos of the truck, showing juts how devastating a wildfire can be.

Fortunately, two firefighters who were inside the truck at the time made it out safely.

The volunteer fire department is now looking for donations to replace the brush truck.

Donations can be mailed to Butler City Hall at 105 N Main Butler, OK 73625 or you can drop them off at Butler City Hall.

A red flag warning remains in effect for Wednesday from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. for a large portion of western Oklahoma.

The Rhea Fire has affected four counties in western Oklahoma: Blaine, Custer, Dewey, and Woodward.

The governor’s burn ban, which will remain in effect indefinitely, covers the following counties:

  • Alfalfa
  • Beaver
  • Beckham
  • Blaine
  • Caddo
  • Canadian
  • Cimarron
  • Comanche
  • Cotton
  • Custer
  • Dewey
  • Ellis
  • Garfield
  • Grady
  • Grant
  • Greer
  • Harmon
  • Harper
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Kay
  • Kingfisher
  • Kiowa
  • Logan
  • Major
  • Noble
  • Oklahoma
  • Osage
  • Pawnee
  • Roger Mills
  • Stephens
  • Texas
  • Tillman
  • Washita
  • Woods
  • Woodward.

Also, all of  Oklahoma City is listed under the burn ban, no matter which county it falls in.



Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.