Oklahoma Watches and Warnings
Live Interactive KFOR Radar
Weather closings and delays

Gov. Fallin reduces number of counties listed under burn ban

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – After storms brought heavy rain to parts of the state, Governor Mary Fallin has issued a proclamation to reduce the number of counties listed under the burn ban.

Oklahoma Forestry Services says that wildland fire conditions are improving across much of the state due to the recent rainfall.

“The drought continues to persist across northwest Oklahoma, but the recent rains have given most of the state a reprieve from extreme fire conditions,” said Fallin.

Counties that will remain under the governor’s burn ban are as follows:

  • Beaver
  • Cimarron
  • Ellis
  • Harper
  • Texas
  • Woods
  • Woodward.

“Spring green-up typically signals the end of our winter fire season,” said OFS Director and State Forester Mark Goeller. “While some improvement has been realized with recent rainfall, significant green-up has not yet occurred in the Panhandle and northwest Oklahoma.”

Prohibited activities in those counties listed under the burn ban include open flames, campfires, bonfires, and setting fire to trash, grass, woods or other materials outdoors. Gas and charcoal grilling is allowed as long as it is over a nonflammable surface and at least five feet from flammable vegetation.

While the governor has the authority to issue burn bans for multiple counties, county commissioners also issue burn bans for their individual counties.

At this point, there are no county burn bans in effect.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.