Oklahoma Watches and Warnings

Butkus Award Candidates Ready to Lead Improved Defenses at OU, OSU

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The preseason watch list for the Butkus Award was released Monday, with Oklahoma's Caleb Kelly and Oklahoma State's Justin Phillips both on the list of 51 players.

Kelly is a junior who was honorable mention All-Big 12 last season, while Phillips is a senior who won the Leslie O'Neal as OSU's outstanding defensive player.

Both players will be leaders on their respective defenses, and both hope that side of the ball is improved over a year ago.


Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.