Gov. Fallin declares state of emergency for all 77 counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – After strong storms moved through the state over the last few days, a state of emergency has been issued for all 77 counties.

On Tuesday afternoon, Gov. Mary Fallin declared a state of emergency for all 77 counties due to flooding, severe storms, tornadoes and straight line winds.

Severe storms have been causing damage in areas across the state since Friday, Oct. 5, but the storms culminated with a series of tornado warnings being issued on Tuesday morning.

The storm system has delivered widespread heavy rain and high winds across much of the state, with damage to power lines and power poles, trees and structures.

Numerous tornadoes have also been reported.

Officials warn that additional severe weather with flooding is possible this weekend.

Gov. Fallin’s executive order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases related to disaster relief and preparedness.

The state of emergency lasts 30 days.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.