Burn bans in effect for several counties across Oklahoma

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

GARVIN COUNTY, Okla. – Residents in several Oklahoma counties are being warned against burning anything outdoors.

According to Oklahoma Forestry Services, dozens of counties across the state are currently under burn bans.

The counties are as follows:

  • Cimarron County
  • Texas County
  • Beaver County
  • Harper County
  • Woodward County
  • Woods County
  • Major County
  • Alfalfa County
  • Grant County
  • Custer County
  • Jackson County
  • Greer County
  • Kiowa County
  • Tillman County
  • Cotton County
  • Stephens County
  • Jefferson County
  • Love County
  • Carter County
  • Garvin County
  • Coal County
  • Atoka County
  • Pittsburg County
  • Canadian County
  • Sequoyah County.

Under the guidelines of the burn ban, residents are not allowed to set campfires, bonfires, or set fire to any forest, grass, woods, wildlands or marshes.

Also, burning trash or other materials outdoors is prohibited.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC Bureau

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter