Deceased journalists among those honored at Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame induction

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA — Twelve journalists were inducted into the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame at the University of Central Oklahoma Thursday.

Former Marlow Review and Comanche County Chronicle publishers John and Joy ‘Tinker’ Hruby were among the inductees.

John Hruby was a third-generation Oklahoma journalist, following in the footsteps of his father and former Duncan Banner publisher Al Hruby, and grandfather Harrington Wimberly.

Hruby became publisher of The Duncan Banner in 1997; and he and his wife took over ownership of The Marlow Review in 2007.

Hruby also served as vice president of the Oklahoma Newspaper Association’s board of trustees.

Tinker taught second grade in Duncan and worked in real estate, banking and private investigation.

They married in 1989 in her hometown of Kerrville, Texas.

They were both active in the Duncan and Marlow communities with the Boys and Girls Scouts and the Stephens County Humane Society.

John, Joy, and their daughter, Katherine, were all killed in their Duncan home in October of 2014.

Also honored at the event:

  • Julie Delcour
  • Edward L. “Ed” Goodwin, Jr.
  • James O. Goodwin
  • Ron Hagler
  • Rose Lane
  • Patrick B. McGuigan
  • Gary Reid
  • Jenifer Reynolds
  • Judy Gibbs Robinson
  • Robby Trammell

John Hruby’s sister, Allison Whittaker, had this to say about her family’s induction into the Hall of Fame,

“On behalf of John and Tinker and the Hruby family, we are so very grateful to the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame for this honor. The ceremony was a wonderful tribute to their legacy and commitment to journalism in Oklahoma as a third generation. Newspaper family . We love and miss them so much and are grateful for all the support of the community.”

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC Bureau

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Don't Miss

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter