DEQ offers free well water testing for residents in certain Oklahoma counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Flooding can cause major issues for homeowners and business owners across the state.

Now, the Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality is offering free bacterial testing of private well water for Oklahomans whose wells have been flooded in certain counties.

The following counties are approved for the free testing:

  • Adair County
  • Atoka County
  • Bryan County
  • Carter County
  • Cherokee County
  • Choctaw County
  • Coal County
  • Delaware County
  • Haskell County
  • Hughes County
  • Johnston County
  • Latimer County
  • LeFlore County
  • Love County
  • Marshall County
  • Mayes County
  • McCurtain County
  • McIntosh County
  • Murray County
  • Muskogee County
  • Okmulgee County
  • Ottawa County
  • Pittsburg County
  • Pontotoc County
  • Pushmataha County
  • Sequoyah County
  • Wagoner County.

If your private well has been submerged in flood water, officials recommend you find another source of drinking water until the waters recede and your well water is tested.

The free testing will be available until Feb. 29.

For sampling instructions and supplies, call DEQ at (800) 522-0206.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Don't Miss

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter