FEMA denies disaster assistance for remaining 19 counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA — The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has denied the state of Oklahoma’s request for individual assistance to aid individuals and businesses in 19 counties that were impacted earlier this year by flooding, tornadoes, severe storms and straight-line winds.

The following counties have been denied assistance: Blaine, Craig, Creek, Custer, Dewey, Garfield, Greer, Harmon, Haskell, Jackson, Kay, Major, Muskogee, Osage, Pawnee, Roger Mills, Sequoyah, Washita and Woods.

Earlier in the year, FEMA approved public assistance to 59 counties and individual assistance to 45 counties.

“While I am grateful to FEMA for granting assistance to many in Oklahoma whose homes or businesses were damaged, I am disappointed we could not secure federal aid for those living in these 19 counties,” said Fallin. “I encourage those individuals to seek help through organizations like the American Red Cross, Oklahoma Baptist Disaster Relief and the Salvation Army.  Oklahomans looking to help should consider making monetary donations to those charitable organizations or others like them.”


Report a typo

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter