Gov. Fallin declares drought emergency for 5 Oklahoma counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – Several Oklahoma counties are still in a severe drought even with the recent rains hitting most of the state.

Governor Mary Fallin declared a drought emergency Tuesday for much of southwestern Oklahoma and the panhandle.

The counties include: Jackson, Tillman, Greer, Harmon and Texas.

“These five counties have faced three years of unrelenting drought,” Fallin said. “It’s not just an inconvenience; for many in these communities it has caused real economic hardship.”

Those counties will now be able to get financial assistance from the Emergency Drought Relief Fund.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC Bureau

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter