Gov. Fallin declares state of emergency for all 77 counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – As the state prepares for a winter storm that is expected to bring ice, freezing rain and heavy downpours to Oklahoma, Gov. Mary Fallin has declared a state of emergency.

Gov. Fallin declared a state of emergency for all 77 Oklahoma counties due to the threat of severe weather.

Officials say that since the event is expected to include dangerous road conditions and power outages, emergency management authorities recommended issuing the declaration before the full brunt of the storm.

Fallin’s emergency order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases related to disaster relief. It is also the first step toward seeking federal assistance.

The American Red Cross, Salvation Army, Baptist Disaster Relief and other agencies are standing by to assist with warming and feeding stations.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ
graphic of the Red Cross

Don't Miss

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter