Governor issues state of emergency for parts of N.E. Oklahoma following tornadoes

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

TULSA, Okla. – The recent tornadoes have caused the governor of Oklahoma to issue a state of emergency for parts of northeastern Oklahoma.

On Friday, Governor Marry Fallin issued an executive order declaring a state of emergency for seven northeastern Oklahoma counties impacted by tornadoes, severe storms and straight-line winds that occurred earlier this week.

The declaration is for the following counties:

  • Craig County
  • Mayes County
  • Nowata County
  • Osage County
  • Rogers County
  • Tulsa County
  • Washington County

The storms caused damage to homes and businesses Wednesday evening and injured seven people.

Damage assessments are ongoing in the hardest-hit areas.

Under the executive order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions.

The executive order is in effect for 30 days.  However, it can be amended to include additional counties if needed.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC Bureau

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter