Heisman finalists announced, OU’s Baker Mayfield doesn’t make the cut

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

NEW YORK — The Heisman trophy is the ever-coveted award in college football. It is given annually to the most outstanding player in the U.S. whose performance exhibits the pursuit of excellence with integrity.

OU walk-on quarterback Baker Mayfield is not in the running for the trophy.

The finalists were announced Monday, Dec. 7.

Alabama running back Derrick Henry, Stanford running back Christian McCaffery, and Clemson QB  Deshaun Watson were the only finalists chosen for the running of the award.

According to Sports Illustrated, before the announcement, Heisman hopefuls were Clemson QB Deshaun Watson, Stanford running back Christian McCaffery, OU quarterback Baker Mayfield, Alabama running back Derrick Henry, and Florida State running back Dalvin Cook.

Sam Bradford was the last Oklahoman to win the Heisman in 2008, and Jason White won it in 2003. They both played for the University of Oklahoma.

Oklahoma State’s last winner was Barry Sanders in 1988.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ
graphic of the Red Cross

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter