House, Senate elect leaders ahead of 2019 session start

Oklahoma State Capitol

Oklahoma State Capitol

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Oklahoma Legislature convened for an organizational day and formally elected House and Senate leaders for the 2019 session that starts next month.

The House on Tuesday elected Atoka banker Charles McCall to a second term as House speaker, while Sen. Greg Treat of Oklahoma City was elected president pro tem of the Senate.

Republicans hold a 77-24 advantage in the House and a 39-9 edge in the Senate.

For the first time in state history, both the House and Senate minority leaders are women. Rep. Emily Virgin of Norman will lead House Democrats, while Sen. Kay Floyd will be minority leader in the Senate.

The House and Senate also approved rules for the upcoming session and certified the election results from November.

The 2019 session begins Feb. 4.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC Bureau

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter