Hubbard and Hurts Lead AP’s All-Big 12 Team

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard is the Associated Press’ pick for the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, with Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year.

The AP released its All-Big 12 team on Friday, with six Sooner players making first team and three making second team.

Three Cowboys made first team and two more second team, including receiver Tylan Wallace, who had his season cut short by an injury.

Here are the complete AP awards, as voted on by a 20-member panel of sports media representatives:

The 2019 AP All-Big 12 team, as selected by a panel of 20 sports writers and sportscasters who regularly cover the league, with players listed alphabetically with name, school, height, weight, class and hometown. (“u-” denotes unanimous selections; (asterisk)-two LBs tied for final spot):

First Team


QB_u-Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma, 6-2, 218, Sr., Houston.

RB_u-Chuba Hubbard, Oklahoma St., 6-1, 207, So., Sherwood Park, Alberta.

RB_Pooka Williams Jr., Kansas, 5-10, 170, So., New Orleans.

T_Julian Good-Jones, Iowa St., 6-5, 308, Sr., Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

T_Colton McKivitz, West Virginia, 6-7, 312, Sr., Jacobsburg, Ohio.

G_Marcus Keyes, Oklahoma St., 6-3, 309, Sr., Port Allen, Louisiana.

G_Sam Tecklenburg, Baylor, 6-4, 310, Sr., Plano, Texas.

C_Creed Humphrey, Oklahoma, 6-5, 316, So., Shawnee, Oklahoma.

TE_u-Charlie Kolar, Iowa St., 6-6, 252, So., Norman, Oklahoma.

WR_u-CeeDee Lamb, Oklahoma, 6-2, 189, Jr., Richmond, Texas.

WR_Devin Duvernay, Texas, 5-11, 211, Sr., Sachse, Texas.

All-Purpose —Joshua Youngblood, Kansas St., 5-10, 180, Fr., Tampa, Florida.

K_Jonathan Song, TCU, 5-10, 175, Sr., Fort Worth, Texas.


DE_James Lynch, Baylor, 6-4, 295, Jr., Round Rock, Texas.

DE_Wyatt Hubert, Kansas St., 6-3, 258, So., Topeka, Kansas.

DT_Bravvion Roy, Baylor, 6-1, 333, Sr., Spring, Texas.

DT_Neville Gallimore, Oklahoma, 6-2, 302, Sr., Ottawa, Ontario.

LB_u-Jordyn Brooks, Texas Tech, 6-1, 245, Sr., Houston.

LB_Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma, 6-2, 234, Jr., Missouri City, Texas.

LB_Garret Wallow, TCU, 6-2, 212, Jr., New Orleans.

CB_Jeff Gladney, TCU, 6-0, 183, Sr., New Boston, Texas.

CB_Parnell Motley, Oklahoma, 6-0, 180, Sr., Washington, D.C.

S_Kolby Harvell-Peel-Oklahoma St., 6-0, 210, So., College Station, Texas.

S— Trevon Moehrig, TCU, 6-2, 208, So., Spring Branch, Texas.

P_Austin McNamara, Texas Tech, 6-4, 175, Fr., Gilbert, Arizona.

Second Team


QB_Brock Purdy, Iowa St., 6-1, 210, So., Gilbert, Arizona.

RB_Kennedy Brooks, Oklahoma, 5-11, 216, So., Mansfield, Texas.

RB_Breece Hall, Iowa St., 6-1, 205, Fr., Wichita, Kansas.

T_Hakeem Adeniji, Kansas, 6-5, 300, Sr., Garland, Texas.

T_Samuel Cosmi, Texas, 6-7, 300, So., Humble, Texas.

G_Josh Rivas, Kansas St., 6-6, 323, So., Hutchinson, Kansas.

G_Parker Braun, Texas, 6-3, 300, Sr., Hallsville, Texas.

C_Zach Shackelford, Texas, 6-4, 305, Sr., Belton, Texas.

TE_Pro Wells, TCU, 6-4, 257, So., St. Petersburg, Florida.

WR_Denzel Mims, Baylor, 6-3, 315, Sr., Daingerfield, Texas.

WR_Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma St., 6-0, 185, Jr., Fort Worth, Texas.

All-Purpose_Jalen Reagor, TCU, 5-11, 195, Jr., Waxahachie, Texas.

K_Gabe Brkic, Oklahoma, 6-2, 196, Fr., Chardon, Ohio.


DE_Malcom Roach, Texas, 6-3, 290, Sr., Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

DE_Ronnie Perkins, Oklahoma, 6-3, 251, So., St. Louis, Missouri.

DT_Ross Blacklock, TCU, 6-4, 305, Jr., Missouri City, Texas.

DT_Darius Stills, West Virginia, 6-1, 292, Jr., Fairmont, West Virginia.

LB_Terrel Bernard, Baylor, 6-1, 222, So., La Porte, Texas.

(asterisk)LB_Marcel Spears Jr., Iowa St., 6-1, 218, Sr., Olathe, Kansas.

(asterisk)LB_Clay Johnston, Baylor, 6-1, 232, Sr., Abilene, Texas.

CB_A.J. Green, Oklahoma St., 6-1, 190, Sr., DeSoto, Texas.

CB_Keith Washington II, West Virginia, 6-1, 180, Sr., Prattville, Alabama.

S_Grayland Arnold, Baylor, 5-10, 190, Jr., Kountze, Texas.

S_Douglas Coleman III, Texas Tech, 6-1, 200, Sr., Zachary, Louisiana.

P_Devin Anctil, Kansas St., 6-1, 234, Sr., Lenexa, Kansas.


Coach of the year — Matt Rhule, Baylor.

Offensive player of the year — Chuba Hubbard, RB, Oklahoma St.

Defensive player of the year — James Lynch, DE, Baylor.

Newcomer of the year — u-Jalen Hurts, QB, Oklahoma.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ
graphic of the Red Cross

Oklahoma High School Scores

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter