Federal disaster assistance approved for 16 Oklahoma counties


OKLAHOMA CITY (KFOR) – Following October’s devastating ice storm, federal officials have approved public assistance for 16 Oklahoma counties.

On Thursday, Gov. Kevin Stitt announced that the federal government has approved Oklahoma’s request for public assistance for 16 additional counties to help with expenses related to the winter storm.

The funds can be spent for debris removal, infrastructure repairs, and other costs associated with responding to the storm.

The public assistance was granted for the following counties:

  • Alfalfa
  • Blaine
  • Comanche
  • Custer
  • Ellis
  • Garfield
  • Grant
  • Jackson
  • Kay
  • Lincoln
  • Major
  • McClain
  • Pawnee
  • Stephens
  • Tillman
  • Washita.

In all, public assistance was approved for 13 counties several weeks ago.

The multi-day storm system produced up to two inches of ice in some areas, left hundreds of thousands without power and caused millions of dollars in damages. In the previously requested counties alone, the storm resulted in an estimated $30 million in debris removal and other damages.

Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management and Homeland Security notes that damage assessments are ongoing in some counties. The state will continue to request additional counties be added to the declaration as needed.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Don't Miss

Latest News

More News

KFOR Digital Originals

More Digital Original


Follow @KFOR on Twitter