Resolution recognizing May as ‘Law Enforcement Appreciation Month’ receives Oklahoma Senate support


OKLAHOMA CITY (KFOR) – The Oklahoma Senate passed a resolution recognizing May as ‘Law Enforcement Appreciation Month’.

Sen. Darrell Weaver, R-Moore, wrote Senate Resolution 15, which passed in the Senate Wednesday as Oklahoma law enforcement officers watched from the gallery.

Weaver spent three decades in law enforcement and is a former director of the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.

“There are about 13,000 Oklahomans who selflessly serve their fellow citizens as peace officers. They’re husbands and wives, mothers and fathers, our next door neighbors and the people we go to church with on Sunday. But unlike most of us, they face dangerous situations on a regular basis, and too many have made the ultimate sacrifice while upholding the law,” Weaver said. “It’s only fitting for us to honor them in the Senate and throughout Oklahoma.”

Weaver acknowledged six law enforcement officers who died in the line of duty in 2020. Those officers are as follows:

  • Capt. Billy Dewayne Allen Sr., Fort Sill Police Department
  • Officer Jerad Lindsey, Tulsa Police Department
  • Capt. Jeff Sewell, Oklahoma Highway Patrol
  • Sgt. Craig Vincent Johnson, Tulsa Police Department
  • Lt. Shirley Lanning, Canadian County Sheriff’s Office
  • Deputy Sheriff Jarid Taylor, Bryan County Sheriff’s Office

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


More Featured Stories

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Daily Oklahoma Coronavirus Data

Contact In Your Corner Team

Latest News

More News


image of QR Code

KFOR Digital Originals

More Digital Original


Follow @KFOR on Twitter

Border Report

More Border Report