OKLAHOMA CITY (KFOR) – City leaders in Oklahoma City say the city’s ‘shelter-in-place’ order is being extended until the end of the month.
On Thursday, Oklahoma City Mayor David Holt announced that he has extended the ‘shelter-in-place’ emergency order to April 30 as the COVID-19 pandemic continues.
Officials say the action is being recommended by the mayor’s COVID-19 Public Health Advisory Group.
The order’s rules are as follows:
- Stay home.
- You can shop for groceries, medicine, gas, repairs, and other essential goods and services.
- You can go to a restaurant for takeout or drive-thru service.
- You can go to the doctor and take care of other essential needs.
- You can exercise outside, including on sidewalks, trails and in public parks. You can enjoy outdoor activities like long walks, bike rides and fishing. Green spaces in parks are open. But all playgrounds are closed, both public and private. City-owned golf courses, fitness courts, dog parks, disc golf courses, skate parks, recreation centers and sport courts (basketball, tennis, volleyball, etc.) are also closed.
- You can go to work in an essential job. You can also do business with someone working in an essential job.
- You can drive, bike, walk and take transit. You don’t need special ID or a permit. Police aren’t asking people to prove why they’re outside their home.
- You can work from home if you work in a job defined by the State as non-essential. You can also do business with someone doing a non-essential job from home, but do it virtually or by phone. Even if it’s an essential job, employers are encouraged to allow employees to work from home if possible.
- Staff are allowed on site even at closed non-essential businesses for basic tasks like maintenance and security.
- You can check on someone in need.
- You can donate at blood drives, volunteer at food banks and participate in other disaster response activities.
- Staff can be at faith-based sites to record or broadcast services.
- Stay 6 feet away from others, for your safety and theirs.
- Wash your hands before you leave your house, and as soon as you get home.
- You can call 911 if you have specific information about someone violating the order. Police may investigate. Officers will ask for voluntary compliance, but may use discretion to issue citations if necessary.
If you are found to not be in compliance with the order, you could face a $750 fine or six months in jail.