NWS: Winter weather advisory expires for parts of the state, some counties still covered

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – The National Weather Service has issued a winter weather advisory for much of the state that stretches through eastern Oklahoma.

The advisory remains in effect until 6 a.m. Monday.

Experts say accumulating snow and sleet will affect western Oklahoma and western Texas this morning before spreading east throughout the day.

Accumulations of two to four inches are possible.

The main impact of the system will be snow and ice on the roadways, which may cause hazardous road conditions.

The counties covered under the advisory are as follows:


  • Atoka County
  • Bryan County
  • Canadian County
  • Carter County
  • Choctaw County
  • Cleveland County
  • Coal County
  • Cotton County
  • Garvin County
  • Grady County
  • Hughes County
  • Jefferson County
  • Johnston County
  • Kingfisher County
  • Lincoln County
  • Logan County
  • Love County
  • Marshall County
  • McClain County
  • Murray County
  • Oklahoma County
  • Payne County
  • Pontotoc County
  • Pottawatomie County
  • Seminole County
  • Stephens County

The National Weather Service is warning drivers that even a small amount of ice and snow on roads can make them slick and hazardous.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter