Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin, three branches of government and the Ten Commandments

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

[protected-iframe id=”c433bfb9b269dba2f05d07f1f2d87cd7-29519643-31344442″ info=”http://launch.newsinc.com/?type=VideoPlayer/Single&widgetId=1&trackingGroup=69016&siteSection=tulsastudio_hom_non_fro&videoId=29343027&playlistId=15318″ width=”590″ height=”332″ scrolling=”no”]

TULSA, Okla. – Earlier this week, Gov. Mary Fallin said despite a controversial decision by the Oklahoma Supreme Court, the Ten Commandments Monument will remain at the Oklahoma Capitol.

The Court says that the monument violated a part of the Oklahoma Constitution that prohibited the use of public property for religious purposes.

Following the ruling, some lawmakers said the justices should face impeachment, while others worked to create an amendment to the Constitution.

Fallin says the monument will remain at the Capitol while appeals and potential changes to the Constitution are considered.

On Wednesday, Fallin discussed her decision with the Tulsa Metro Chamber.

“I think everybody was a little shocked by the Supreme Court’s decision. I’m disappointed in the Supreme Court’s decision. I respect our Supreme Court justices, they have a job to do, I have a job to do. And I respect them for having a tough job to do, but I don’t agree with them on this particular ruling,” Fallin said. “The call they made was not the right call. So one of the things that I’ve asked is that the, and the attorney general’s doing this,  he asked the Supreme Court to review their decision. That doesn’t mean they’re going to change their mind but I think they need to review their decision. And I think it’s also important that we have time for our legislators, many of whom  have expressed this opinion, that they would like to send an amendment to our Constitution to fix any ambiguity and what the article in the Constitution they referred to in their ruling to overturn the Ten Commandments at the state Capitol grounds.”

Gov. Fallin said she believes the final decision on the monument’s fate should rest with the people.

“You know, there are three branches of our government. You have the Supreme Court, the legislative branch and the people, the people and their ability to vote. So I’m hoping that we can address this issue in the legislative session and let the people of Oklahoma decide,” she said. 

“There are three branches of our government. You have the Supreme Court, the legislative branch and the people, the people and their ability to vote.”

Despite what the governor said, the three branches of government include the legislative, executive and judicial branches.

The legislative branch, which consists of the Senate and House of Representatives, is in charge of making laws.

The executive branch, which includes the president, vice president and the cabinet, is in charge of carrying out the laws. On the state level, it includes the governor.

The judicial branch is made up of the court system, which includes the Supreme Court and other federal courts.

See a mistake? Report a typo here.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Daily Oklahoma Coronavirus Data

Contact In Your Corner Team

Latest News

More News


KFOR Digital Originals

More Digital Original

Follow @KFOR on Twitter

Border Report

More Border Report