President Obama signs disaster declaration for three Oklahoma counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY  — President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration for three counties affected by tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding from severe storms in early May, according to a report by the Tulsa World.

The signed declaration makes federal funding available to individuals whose property was damaged in storms in Cleveland, Grady and Oklahoma counties May 5-10.

Gov. Mary Fallin requested the disaster declaration on May 19.

View images of the damage from May 6 here.

In a letter to President Obama, Fallin wrote of flash flooding, damaging winds, baseball-size hail and at least 25 tornadoes that bore down on the state.

828 homes and businesses were damaged or destroyed in those storms.

Those who suffered damage in those storms can now be eligible for assistance for housing repairs or temporary housing, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs.

Additional counties could later be added.

Residents and business owners impacted can begin applying for assistance Wednesday by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362). The toll-free telephone number will operate from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily until further notice.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Don't Miss

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter