Red Flag Warning issued for several Oklahoma counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – As all eyes are looking toward the skies on Saturday, officials with the National Weather Service are warning Oklahomans about the danger of wildfires on Sunday.

The National Weather Service has issued a red flag warning for the following counties:

  • Alfalfa County
  • Beckham County
  • Blaine County
  • Caddo County
  • Canadian County
  • Comanche County
  • Cotton County
  • Custer County
  • Dewey County
  • Ellis County
  • Garfield County
  • Grant County
  • Greer County
  • Harmon County
  • Harper County
  • Jackson County
  • Kingfisher County
  • Kiowa County
  • Major County
  • Roger Mills County
  • Tillman County
  • Washita County
  • Woods County
  • Woodward County

The warning is in effect from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. on Sunday.

Experts predict strong winds and low humidity could cause any fires that spark to spread.

Currently, the following counties are under burn bans:

  • Alfalfa County- until April 28
  • Cimarron County – until April 28
  • Custer County- until April 28
  • Roger Mills County- until April 28.

In Your Corner

More In Your Corner

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC Bureau

Don't Miss

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter