Baker Mayfield Repeats As Burlsworth Trophy Winner

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield won the Burlsworth Trophy on Monday for the second consecutive season.

The Burlsworth Trophy honors college football’s top player that was originally a walk-on.

It’s named after former Arkansas offensive lineman Brandon Burlsworth, who walked on at Arkansas, becoming an All-American in 1998.

Burlsworth was selected in the 1999 NFL Draft by the Indianapolis Colts, but was killed in a car accident 11 days later.

Mayfield was presented with the award at a banquet in Springdale, Arkansas, on Monday.

“With what the award is all about and everything that comes with it, it’s very special to me,” Mayfield said of winning for a second time. “Just being back here was enough for me, but it’s very humbling and an honor to bring the award back home again. I’ll cherish this and enjoy it.”

Mayfield leads the nation in passing efficiency, completion percentage, and yards per pass attempt.

Mayfield led the Sooners to their second straight Big 12 championship and a berth in the Sugar Bowl on January 2 vs. Auburn.


Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC Bureau

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Oklahoma High School Scores

Don't Miss

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter