College hoops award winners in OKC

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

OKLAHOMA CITY – Several of college basketball’s major award winners were in Oklahoma City Monday night to pick up their prestigious trophies. Oklahoma State’s fabulous first-year guard Marcus Smart picked up the Wayman Tisdale Award, named after the former Sooner legend and presented to the top freshman in all of college hoops. Smart told KFOR-TV before the banquet that he has yet to decide if he’ll leave OSU with 3-years remaining to turn pro, or return to Stillwater for his sophomore season.

Data pix.

Smart is expected to be a Top-10 pick in the upcoming NBA Draft. Michigan's outstanding shooting guard Trey Burke was also in OKC to pick up the Oscar Robertson Trophy, presented to the national "player of the year". Burke led Michigan to an overtime thriller over Kansas and to a runner-up finish to national champion Louisville in the recent NCAA Tournament. Miami, FL's Jim Larranaga was in Oklahoma to be presented the national "Coach of the Year" honor, the Henry Iba Award, named after the late, great legendary former Oklahoma State head man. And Michigan State head coach Tom Izzo was also at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum to take home the Wayman Tisdale "Humanitarian Award" for his many, many years of outstanding service as one of the college game's top bench leaders.

The four award winners talked to NewsChannel 4 about the decisions awaiting them (Smart) and the awards they received here in a gala ceremony sponsored by Devon Energy and produced by Access Sports.

Oklahoma High School Scores

Don't Miss


Follow @KFOR on Twitter